About Us

Who we are

 The Association of Government Accountants (AGA) is a professional organization created by government finance professionals to support the careers and professional development of those working in federal, state and local governments as well as those working in the private sector and academia. The National organization was created in 1950. The Northern Utah Chapter of AGA was organized in 1989.

Our chapter has members from the following governments:

  • State of Utah - Multiple departments
  • West Valley City
  • Salt Lake County
  • Salt Lake City

Training and Networking

We provide training opportunities on a variety of subjects including financial management, budgeting, accounting, economics, ethics communication, and related legislation and taxation issues. The training meetings also provide the opportunity to network with other professionals to exchange ideas and offer solution to common concerns and problems.

  • Monthly Training on the third Thursday of each month except May, July, November and December. Each training session qualifies for 1 hour of CPE
  • Two day Conference each spring in April or May. Up to 16 CPE hours available
  • One day conference each fall in November. Up to 8 hours of CPE available
  • CGFM Certification Review course offered at a discount each year.
  • Support for Citizencentric Reporting

AGA Board 2018-2019

President  

Jim Grover 

801-538-8860

Jimgrover@utah.gov


President Elect

Niclas Hales

801-963-3507

nhales@wvc-ut.gov


Past President

Jill Flygare

801-538-1573

jflygare@utah.gov


Secretary

Mel Castillo

801538-4188

mcastillo@utah.gov


Treasurer

Micah Richards

801-545-5577

micawrichards@utah.gov


Treasurer Elect

Tanya Jensen

tonya.jensen@urs.org


Membership Director

Susan Stengel

801-545-5590

sstengel@utah.gov


Meetings Director

Michelle Bartlett

801-545-5672

mbartlett@utah.gov


Program Director

Patrick Lee

801-538-3778

pwlee@utah.gov


Education Director

Nicole Sherwood

801-599-9185

nsherwood@wtcutah.com



Webmaster

Larry Simpson

801-538-3092

lsimpson@utah.gov


PAST YEARS

2017-2018

2016-2017

2015-2016

2014-2015

2013-2014

Bylaws, policies & procedures

Here you will find useful information about what the Board does and how our Chapter operates.  If you would like to serve on the Board, please contact one of the current Board Members.  Serving on the Board is a great way to network and to contribute to the accounting profession.

Contact Us

Get in Touch

NUAGA